No spend January update #1

I’m here with an update on how we’ve been using up our pantry for our “No Spend January” challenge.  Friday I made some pumpkin chocolate chip nut muffins using this recipe.  I made a few substitutions: honey for the maple syrup, chocolate chips and walnuts for the currants, and fresh carrot juice for the almond milk. Em and I had a few with some popcorn Friday night while Ryan was working, and we all had the rest the next day.  I didn’t get pictures of them, but they were delicious. Sabbath evening I used the little bit of canned pumpkin I had leftover in some risotto- just onion, olive oil, arborio rice, vegetable bouillon, salt, canned pumpkin, and a handful of queso fresco. We also opened the coconut that we had, and I shredded and dried the coconut meat for other meals.

Later that night, I made a “wacky” cake- my favorite vegan cake recipe. I didn’t have vinegar, so I subbed lime juice for it, and it worked! (You can’t taste the lime.) I added chocolate chips and walnuts to the cake.

IMG_2287

 

I had half a lime left and needed to make lunches for Sunday, as Ryan was working and I needed something to send with him. I used the lime with olive oil and a seasoned salt/herb blend called “Farm Dust” to make a dressing for a cold wild/basmati rice salad. I added golden raisins, toasted walnuts, green onion, a sprinkle of fresh parsley, and a bit of diced carrot. I served it with carrot sticks.  Em and I had oatmeal (with toppings) for breakfast and popcorn for dinner. IMG_2288

I haven’t spent any money so far this month, but will have to tomorrow. We are out of salt and just about out of toilet paper, so we will definitely need those. I have about $5 on a Walmart gift card that I got from their “Savings Catcher” program, so I can use that towards a purchase. We also have some bills to pay tomorrow, and I will need a few food items. I have garbanzo beans soaking now for tomorrow. I think I will make tortillas tomorrow and have garbanzo and shredded carrot wraps with our favorite dressing. This challenge is certainly stretching my culinary skills, but I enjoy the challenge, and I’m thankful that I don’t have picky eaters in my household.

“6 And now, just as you accepted Christ Jesus as your Lord, you must continue to follow him. Let your roots grow down into him, and let your lives be built on him. Then your faith will grow strong in the truth you were taught, and you will overflow with thankfulness.” ~Colossians 2:6-7

Leave a Reply

