A fresh start

Happy 2016! We spent last night writing and talking as a family- reviewing the past year, and looking forward to this new year. As the sale on our house in Montana continues to be delayed, we decided that we would do a “No Spend” challenge for the month of January. We are loosely basing it on the “Live Well, Spend Zero” challenge from the “Live Well, Spend Less” blog. Today we began with taking a food inventory and reorganizing the pantry cupboard we have. I didn’t get a before picture of the cupboard, but there were a lot of messy, half empty bags of food. I used some jars I had saved from past food purchases (all my canning jars are still in our storage unit, and my husband had our one vehicle at work, so I made do) to decant the bags of food. It looks much nicer now!

All of the food was pulled out and inventoried, so we can make use of as much as possible this month and therefore have less to buy. The only food not pictured is a bag of carrots and some queso crumbles in our cooler (we do not currently have a refrigerator), and a half-empty canister of rolled oats. It looks like we will be eating a lot of oats and popcorn this month!

IMG_2282

 

The pantry after:

IMG_2284

After I put everything away, I sat down with the inventory and made a list of possible meal ideas. I have ingredients for gluten steaks, bread, risotto, etc.  We still have quite a few carrots left, so the fresh juice we made the other day will probably be made again! The carrots give the juice such a pretty color. We juiced several carrots with a whole pineapple and 2 pink grapefruit. It was tasty! We also made one with carrots, mangoes, and apples. The other people in my family actually liked the latter one better, but I love grapefruit so I preferred the first juice.

IMG_2254

I will be back Sunday with our homeschool plans for January. Enjoy the Sabbath day!

 

18 At the moment I have all I need—and more! I am generously supplied with the gifts you sent me with Epaphroditus. They are a sweet-smelling sacrifice that is acceptable and pleasing to God. 19 And this same God who takes care of me will supply all your needs from his glorious riches, which have been given to us in Christ Jesus.20 Now all glory to God our Father forever and ever! Amen.” ~Phillipians 4:18-20

Leave a Reply

